Pre-World War II
Battery A, 1st Battalion
Presque Isle, Maine
(c) 152nd Field Artillery Association, 2009
From 1939 yearbook:

Battery A, 152nd Field Artillery, Presque Isle, was organized January 26, 1922, and Federally recognized February 9, 1922. The original officers were Captain M.S.W. Dingwall, First Lieutenants Harry E. Rollins and Walter H. Cassidy, and Second Lieutenant Jasper H. Hone. Captain Dingwall was promoted to Major, commanding the First Battalion and later to Lieutenant Colonel of the regiment. He transferred to the inactive list in 1934 because of business reasons.

Battery A has won many awards and trophies. The first and largest was awarded to the battery in 1924 by the merchants of Presque Isle, Caribou and Ft. Fairfield, for having the best drilled organization in infantry drill for three consecutive years. In 1924 it won the Governor Baxter Military Trophy for twice having attained the highest military rating at the regiment's annual tour of duty. This trophy was presented by Percival P. Baxter, Governor of Maine. The other eight trophies are as follows: 1925, three trophies, baseball, basketball, and pistol team; 1928, greatest
Malcom S.W. Dingwall
First Battery Commander
number of gunnery qualifications; 1929, winners of the athletic meet at camp; 1932, first prize Gymkana and best kitchen; 1938, Spaulding trophy for winning the pistol match at the Sportsman Show held in connection with the Caribou Winter Carnival. At the annual Armory Federal inspections, Battery A has received many excellent ratings.

The battetry commanders since the time of Federal recognition have been as follows: Captain M.S.W. Dingwall, 1922-23; Captain Walter H. Cassidy, 1923-1925; Captain Jasper H. Hone, 1925-31; Captain Floyd E. McGlauflin, 1931-1937, and Captain Raymond M. Keirstead, 1937-39+
Battery Commanders
Jasper H. Hone
Floyd E. McGlauflin
Raymond M. Keirstead
Walter H. Cassidy
152nd Field Artillery Association
A Battery Photo Pages (.pdf file, opens a new window)
New !!!